2013
NT7808 : Chew Green Roman Camps
taken 13 years ago, 3 km from Nether Hindhope, Scottish Borders, Scotland
This is 1 of 2 images, with title Chew Green Roman Camps in this square

Chew Green Roman Camps
Chew Green (named from a former farm) was at one time thought to be the 'Ad Fines' of the Romans, being one of the stations beyond Hadrian's Wall, although the true Roman name is unknown.
The encampment was adjacent to Dere Street, situated on a narrow plateau 1450ft above sea level, now close to the border with Scotland. A five-phase complex of Roman military camps has been recognised, consisting of two temporary marching camps, a semi-permanent Roman fort, and two permanently-occupied fortlets. Dating of occupation phases is little understood despite partial excavation in 1936 by Richmond and Keeney.
Pastscape: Link
Archive Link
Dere Street was built cAD79 on the orders of Agricola (shown wrongly as Watling Street on old maps) and ran between Eboracum (York) and Perthshire. It continued in use in medieval times and the Roman site at Chew Green is overlaid by a deserted village often shown as 'Kemylpethe' or 'Kemylpethe Walls', a name also associated with a section of the road, 'Gamelspath'. The village had an Inn for travellers on the road, and also a chapel, possibly established by monks from Kelso Abbey after 1227. The Makendon Cross was found nearby in 1889.
Historic England: Link
Archive Link
See other images of Chew Green Roman Camps
The encampment was adjacent to Dere Street, situated on a narrow plateau 1450ft above sea level, now close to the border with Scotland. A five-phase complex of Roman military camps has been recognised, consisting of two temporary marching camps, a semi-permanent Roman fort, and two permanently-occupied fortlets. Dating of occupation phases is little understood despite partial excavation in 1936 by Richmond and Keeney.
Pastscape: Link
Dere Street was built cAD79 on the orders of Agricola (shown wrongly as Watling Street on old maps) and ran between Eboracum (York) and Perthshire. It continued in use in medieval times and the Roman site at Chew Green is overlaid by a deserted village often shown as 'Kemylpethe' or 'Kemylpethe Walls', a name also associated with a section of the road, 'Gamelspath'. The village had an Inn for travellers on the road, and also a chapel, possibly established by monks from Kelso Abbey after 1227. The Makendon Cross was found nearby in 1889.
Historic England: Link
See other images of Chew Green Roman Camps
