Shared description
St Mary's church, Great Chart
A church has stood on this site probably since the 12th century, although it is not mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. The early church probably just consisted of the chancel and nave, possibly with the tower.
The church was rebuilt in the 14th century when the present layout was adopted. The chancel is longer than the nave. The 14th century church had a high pitched roof spanning both aisles, the outside walls were very low
in the mid-15th century a fire damaged the church and it was restored by the rector James Goldwell, who in 1472 became Bishop of Norwich. There is a window in the east end depicting him.
After the restoration the church was as it is now, the walls were raised to admit larger windows and the aisles were covered with flat leaded roofs. A Rood screen and loft were built, and the nave walls were raised to allow clerestory windows to be built.
The church consists of chancel, nave with north and south aisles, a west tower, porch and vestry. There is a north and a south Chapel.
The base of the tower dates from the 14th century, but the upper part is 15th century. Like the rest of the church, it is constructed of Kentish Ragstone, which was quarried locally.
The north Chapel contains an altar tomb to William and Avice Goldwell, and also brasses and memorials to the Toke family who owned the Godinton estate nearby.
The chancel, which is 14th century originally had 4 Bay arcades, but these were replaced in the 15th century by 3 unequal arches to accommodate the Rood screen. The east wall was rebuilt in 1866. There is a stone reredos from 1912.
The south Chapel, which contains the organ has 14th century windows with original 15th century glass.
The nave has 3 Bay arcades of octagonal piers with clerestory windows.
Although the vestry is mainly 19th century, the jambs of the door early Norman, circa 1080.
The south porch is 15th century, as is the font.
The church contains several brasses and memorial windows to the Toke family.
The roof was repaired in 2012.
14 images use this description:
Shared descriptions
This shared description
The 'Shared Description' text on this page is © copyright 2013 Julian P Guffogg.
Shared descriptions are specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse them on their own images, without restriction.
About shared descriptions
These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images.
For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.
Explore images
Log in to view extended navigation and 'Explore' links.Other shared descriptions
Descriptions nearby
- Court Lodge Farm Oast
- Great Chart
- Little Singleton Oast
- Godinton (Godinton Park)
- Singleton Lake
- Little Goldwell Oast
- Goldwell Oast
- Toke Farm Oast
- Little Netters Oast
- Old Chilmington Oast
- Worten House Oast
- Godinton Park Oast
Related descriptions
- Godinton (Godinton Park)
By N Chadwick. Used on 41 images
- Godinton Park Oast
By Oast House Archive. Used on 11 images
- Goldwell Oast
By Oast House Archive. Used on 10 images
The above selections are automatic and approximate, it might not always select closely matching descriptions














