Colleges at the University of York :: Shared Description

The University of York was built with a collegial system in a similar way to Cambridge, Oxford and Durham. At York, the colleges are principally for accommodation and social reasons rather than for academic teaching (although the colleges are commonly used for splitting teaching into smaller groups within departments). The first college was Derwent College (named after the nearby river) in 1965, quickly followed by Langwith College (named after the nearby common) and in 1968-9 by Vanbrugh College (after John Vanbrugh the architect), Goodricke College (after John Goodricke the astronomer) and Alcuin College (after Alcuin of York). Wentworth College (after Thomas Wentworth), the post graduate only college, was formed in 1972 and completed the originally envisaged colleges. In 1990 James college (after Lord James of Rusholme) was added, initially post-graduate only, it allowed undergraduate entry from 1993. Halifax College only came into being as a college in 2001, although the buildings had existed as overflow accommodation (known as Halifax Court) for several years previous. With university expansion onto Heslington East campus several colleges are departing from their original locations with Goodricke College relocating in 2009 and Langwith College in 2012. The buildings on Heslington West vacated by the departing colleges were acquired by other neighbouring colleges (where other shared descriptions for the specific colleges exist, these reflect the college at the time of the photograph). A ninth college was added to the university in 2014, named Constantine College after the Roman Emperor Constantine the Great was constructed on Heslington East. In 2020 construction began on two further colleges to be located at the western side of Heslington East. College 11 is named Anne Lister College and College 12 David Kato College.
by DS Pugh
More nearby... Related descriptions Selection is automatic and approximate, it might not always select closely matching descriptions

1340 images use this description. Preview sample shown below:

SE6250 : Alcuin F block by DS Pugh
SE6350 : Goodricke and Langwith by DS Pugh
SE6250 : James N block lakeside by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Vanbrugh College by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Quiet place at sunrise by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Greg's Place from Vanbrugh Walkway by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Near Derwent Weir by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Lake from Vanbrugh Bridge by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Central Hall and Vanbrugh Paradise by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Path to James Bridge by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Lake from Vanbrugh Bridge by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Derwent Lawns and Lake by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Towards James College and Eric Milner White Court by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Central Hall Balcony by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Derwent College by DS Pugh
SE6350 : New Langwith College by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Geese landing on Derwent Lawns by DS Pugh
SE6150 : Lake at Wentworth by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Vanbrugh College and Paradise by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Snow on campus by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Derwent College buildings by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Recently felled tree by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Lake near Derwent by DS Pugh
SE6250 : Fireworks over Vanbrugh by DS Pugh
SE6250 : B block and Heslington Hall by DS Pugh

... and 1315 more images.

These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images. For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.
Created: Sun, 15 Nov 2009, Updated: Sun, 20 Jun 2021

The 'Shared Description' text on this page is Copyright 2009 DS Pugh, however it is specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse it on their own images without restriction.

You are not logged in login | register