Shared description
St Michael’s Church, Bowness on Solway
In addition to its magnificent stained glass windows, the Church has other notable features. The original bells were cast in 1611 and 1616 and were stolen by marauding Scots in 1626. A “raiding party” from Bowness soon recovered the bells and they continued in use until 1905, when a new pair were given to the Church by a Mrs Irving of Port Carlisle in memory of her husband and son. There is also a Norman font, which was buried during the Commonwealth to avoid destruction by Cromwellian forces. It was not dug-up and restored until 1848. In the graveyard, a sundial is mounted on what appears to be a sloping grave stone, but is actually a coffin lid!
The Church is open daily, a Guide Book is available and donation are welcome.
The Church web site can be found: Link
21 images use this description:
Shared descriptions
This shared description
The 'Shared Description' text on this page is © copyright 2017 The Carlisle Kid.
Shared descriptions are specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse them on their own images, without restriction.
About shared descriptions
These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images.
For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.
Explore images
Log in to view extended navigation and 'Explore' links.Other shared descriptions
Descriptions nearby
- National Survey of Wayside Features by The Milestone Society
- The State Managed Pubs & Breweries of Carlisle and District
- War Memorials
- Ordnance Survey Benchmarks
Related descriptions
- St Mary the Virgin church, Hastingleigh
By Julian P Guffogg. Used on 8 images
- St James the Great church, Kilkhampton
By Julian P Guffogg. Used on 15 images
- Church of Ss Gregory & Martin, Wye
By Julian P Guffogg. Used on 26 images
- St Michael's church, Halam
By Julian P Guffogg. Used on 22 images
- Church of St Luke, Broughton Sulney (Upper Broughton)
By Alan Murray-Rust. Used on 9 images
- Church of All Saints, Sherburn in Elmet
By Alan Murray-Rust. Used on 17 images
- Ss Mary & Peter church, Harlaxton
By Julian P Guffogg. Used on 21 images
The above selections are automatic and approximate, it might not always select closely matching descriptions
















