Shared description
Bixley, Norfolk
Bixley is a former civil parish, now in the parish of Caistor St Edmund and Bixley, in the South Norfolk district of Norfolk, England. It is 3 miles (4.8 km) south-east of the city of Norwich.
At the 2001 census the parish consisted of 60 households and had a population of 144, including the village of Arminghall. On 1 April 2019 the parish was merged with Caistor St Edmund to form Caistor St Edmund and Bixley.
The origin the name of Bixley is 'clearing in bushy land'. The name of Bixley near Ipswich has the same origin.
The parish church of St Wandregesilius dates from 1272. Wandregesilius is a Latinised form of Wandrille and it is the only church in England dedicated to this 7th-century Frankish abbot. In May 2004 it was set on fire by arsonists and gutted. The church had no electricity and used gas cylinders for heating which it is believed were used by vandals to start the fire. A decision was made to not rebuild the church but to use the money from the insurance claim to support other church in the diocese. Near the church is Bixley medieval settlement, the site of a deserted medieval village.
Sir Timothy Colman lived at Bixley Manor, in the grounds of which is the seven-storey stump of Bixley Tower Mill, dating from 1838. At eleven storeys this was once the tallest windmill in Norfolk and possibly the tallest in Britain. It was reduced to its current height in 1865.
This extract uses material from the Wikipedia article "Bixley", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.
24 images use this description:
Shared descriptions
This shared description
The 'Shared Description' text on this page is © copyright 2019 Geographer.
Shared descriptions are specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse them on their own images, without restriction.
About shared descriptions
These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images.
For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.
Explore images
Log in to view extended navigation and 'Explore' links.Other shared descriptions
Descriptions nearby
Related descriptions
- Caistor Chalk Pit
By Evelyn Simak. Used on 84 images
- The deserted medieval village of Bixley
By Evelyn Simak. Used on 65 images
- A143 Road
By Geographer. Used on 331 images
- Kinghorn Station
By N Chadwick. Used on 4 images
- Abbey of St Edmund, Bury St Edmunds
By Rob Farrow. Used on 66 images
- Signal Boxes of the Norwich to Peterborough Line
By Ashley Dace. Used on 50 images
- Church of St Edmund, Egleton
By Alan Murray-Rust. Used on 36 images
- Post Mills
By Oast House Archive. Used on 66 images
The above selections are automatic and approximate, it might not always select closely matching descriptions
























