Shared description

Chailey

The parish is situated in a part of Sussex where the Low Weald becomes the High Weald with the northern part significantly higher than the southern. Historically it is one of the largest parishes in the county and reputed to be in the exact centre of Sussex. It was also for many centuries one of the poorest and unsurprisingly was the site for the district workhouse during the 19th century. This poverty also ensured that a large number of the commons within the parish survived periods of enclosure particularly the 17th century when virtually all of the commons of the neighbouring parishes to the west disappeared. More information can be found on the Chailey Common description.

The original settlement of Chailey lies in the centre of the parish but the bulk of the population lives in either South Chailey or North Chailey both those communities having grown up from the 19th centuries around the South and North Common respectively. There are two major roads through the parish, the A275 runs north-south and is the Lewes to East Grinstead road which follows the line of the old medieval Lewes to London route. The A272 runs east-west and is a newer turnpike constructed in the late 18th century. Both cross each other at North Chailey. A station existed which was shared with Newick as it lay midway between the two from 1882 to 1958 when the line was shut. Newick & Chailey station was the next station south of Sheffield Park the current terminus of the Bluebell Railway.
by Simon Carey

Created: Fri, 24 Dec 2010, Updated: Fri, 24 Dec 2010


551 images use this description. Preview sample shown below:

TQ3923 : Long Seven Acres by Simon Carey
2015
TQ4022 : Old Track, Lane End Common by Simon Carey
2011
TQ4022 : Path, Lane End Common by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3720 : Little Broomies/Gable Cottage by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3720 : West Compts Field by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3923 : Furze Field/Norton Field by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3821 : Chailey Windmill by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3718 : Toll Wood by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3817 : St John's Close, South Chailey by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3816 : Poor Field by Simon Carey
2011
TQ4021 : Coldharbour Lane, North Chailey by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3919 : Longford Stream by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3820 : Pound Common by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3620 : House Mead by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3817 : Wood, South Common by Simon Carey
2011
TQ3919 : Great Pasture by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3918 : The Sloughbridge Field by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3819 : Ducks on Ice by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3821 : St George's by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3817 : Remains of South Common Windmill by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3921 : The Upper Meadow by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3919 : Little Mead by Simon Carey
2010
TQ4019 : The Park by Simon Carey
2010
TQ4019 : Old Railway Bridge by Simon Carey
2010
TQ3817 : Mill Field by Simon Carey
2010

... and 526 more images.

Shared descriptions

This shared description

The 'Shared Description' text on this page is © copyright 2010 Simon Carey.

Shared descriptions are specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse them on their own images, without restriction.

About shared descriptions

These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images.

For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.

Explore images

Log in to view extended navigation and 'Explore' links.

Other shared descriptions

Descriptions nearby

Related descriptions

The above selections are automatic and approximate, it might not always select closely matching descriptions