Lanercost Priory :: Shared Description

Lanercost Priory was founded sometime between 1165 and 1174 by Henry II. It was built using stones from Hadrian's Wall, nearby. When completed in 1220, canons came from the priory in Norfolk, and remained for some 370 years until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1536, by Henry VIII.

After the Dissolution, the building passed to Thomas Dacre, who converted some of the buildings into private dwellings (now called the Dacre Hall). The north aisle of the Priory church continued in use as a parish church; it was reroofed and sympathetically restored in the nineteenth century and is still in use today.

The rest of the building fell into disrepair and, in 1929, the Priory ruins were put into public ownership, and today they are managed by English Heritage. There are the remains of the North and South Transepts, the Choir, the Sanctuary and the Cellarium

The remainder of the Priory, second only to Furness Abbey in interest as a ruin, is now in the hands of English Heritage.

LinkExternal link Lanercost Priory (English Heritage)
LinkExternal link Lanercost Priory Church (Visit Cumbria)
LinkExternal link Lanercost Priory (Wikipedia)
by David Dixon

56 images use this description. Preview sample shown below:

NY5563 : Gateway and Drive, Lanercost Priory by David Dixon
NY5563 : Graveyard, Lanercost Priory Church by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (23) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (18) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory Refectory Undercroft by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory, Memorial Window to John Addison by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (11) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory Church, St Mary Magdalene by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (12) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Dacre Hall - August 2016 by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory Church, Cecilia Roberts Memorial Stained Glass Window by David Dixon
NY5563 : A fascinating visit to Lanercost Priory (3) by Basher Eyre
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (7) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (9) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (16) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory Church, Stained Glass Window by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (19) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory Church by David Dixon
NY5563 : Sculpture - "Melahel the Angel" by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : A fascinating visit to Lanercost Priory (2) by Basher Eyre
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (14) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (20) by The Carlisle Kid
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory, Tomb of Charles Howard by David Dixon
NY5563 : Lanercost Priory - March 2016 (8) by The Carlisle Kid

... and 31 more images.
These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images. For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.
Created: Mon, 22 Oct 2012, Updated: Mon, 22 Oct 2012

The 'Shared Description' text on this page is Copyright 2012 David Dixon, however it is specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse it on their own images without restriction.

You are not logged in login | register