Shared description
Riddle's Court
It was successively the residence of many prominent men: Alexander Seton, Chancellor of Scotland, in 1616; Sir John Smith of Grothill, who while he lived here was Lord Provost of the city between 1643 and 1646; Sir John Clerk of Penicuik, advocate, member of Parliament and baron of the Exchequer from about 1700; Roderick MacKenzie of Prestonhall: Sir Thomas Stewart of Balcashie; Sir Archibald Mure, Lord Provost of Edinburgh; the Duchess of Buccleuch; Lord Royston; and the great philosopher David Hume, one of the leading figures of the Scottish Enlightenment, all lived in Riddle's Court.
The building was acquired by Patrick Geddes in 1889, and it was he who commissioned the painted ceiling in the larger of the rooms that now bears his name. He renovated the building for use as a student residence, and his motto 'Vivendo discimus' ('we learn by living') is carved over the doorway. The City acquired it in 1948, and it was used as a community education centre, and a base for the Workers' Education Association. However the narrow spiral stairs and inconvenient levels led to its abandonment in 2005, and it was placed on the Buildings at Risk Register in 2011.
The Council intended to sell the building for development, but the Scottish Historic Buildings Trust persuaded the Council to lease it to the Trust at no cost, with a view to developing it as the Patrick Geddes Centre for Learning and Conservation. The Trust has until 2016 to achieve this, and the estimated cost will be £5.5 million. It is well on the way to achieving this, but is still seeking donations and funding to complete the package and allow work to commence in 2014. As well as making fitting use of the building, public access will be preserved.
See Link
5 images use this description: (all images taken in 2013)
Shared descriptions
This shared description
The 'Shared Description' text on this page is © copyright 2013 Anne Burgess.
Shared descriptions are specifically licensed so that contributors can reuse them on their own images, without restriction.
About shared descriptions
These Shared Descriptions are common to multiple images.
For example, you can create a generic description for an object shown in a photo, and reuse the description on all photos of the object. All descriptions are public and shared between contributors, i.e. you can reuse a description created by others, just as they can use yours.
Explore images
Log in to view extended navigation and 'Explore' links.Other shared descriptions
Descriptions nearby
- The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo
- National Gallery of Scotland
- Grassmarket
- Greyfriars Bobby
- Princes Street Gardens
- Edinburgh Riding of the Marches
- Royal Scottish Academy
- Edinburgh Castle
- WW1 Drill Hall - 5 Forrest Hill, Edinburgh
- National Museum of Scotland
- Mons Meg
- Event Horizon by Jason Hackenwerth
- National Museum of Scotland 2016
- Rising Tide: Art and Environment in Oceania
- View from The Scott Monument
- Edinburgh 2013 New Year Fireworks
- The Edinburgh Festival Fringe
- The Scott Monument
- The New Club, Princes Street
- Sir Walter Scott and Waverley
- BCCI building and its Standard Life replacement
- Edinburgh Castle
- Wojtek - The Soldier Bear
- Edinburgh Waverley Station
- New Waverley Arches
Related descriptions
- Princes Street, Edinburgh
By Paul Gillett. Used on 17 images
- University of Edinburgh Main Library and Theatre
By M J Richardson. Used on 10 images
- Edinburgh Castle
By Rob Farrow. Used on 22 images
- Old Calton Cemetery
By N Chadwick. Used on 14 images
- Edinburgh (Georgian) New Town
By N Chadwick. Used on 71 images
- James Clerk Maxwell
By Jim Barton. Used on 7 images
- St John's Episcopal Church, Edinburgh
By Stephen Craven. Used on 18 images
The above selections are automatic and approximate, it might not always select closely matching descriptions





